Print Page Share

78th McGuire Cup matchup set

July 26, 2013 05:16 PM
McGuire Cup final broadcast live on FOX Soccer beginning at 7:30 p.m. ET
The drama of the Under-19 Boys played out to the final minutes of preliminary play before Saturday’s US Youth Soccer National Championship finalists were decided.  Despite a 2-1 victory by Pateadores ANA (CA-S) over Plantation Copa (FL), tomorrows’ final will be a rematch of Chicago Fire Academy (IL) and Lehigh Valley United’s (E-PA) 1-1 draw today.
With Plantation already having been eliminated, Fire, LVU and Pats were jockeying for the two spots, and all three ended with identical 1-0-2 records with all games between the teams ending in ties.  Goal differential had to determine who would play for the National Championship and despite not losing a game, Pateadores found themselves on the outside looking in.
However, with nine minutes left in each game and Pateadores leading Plantation 2-1, it was Pateadores that thought they were through as Fire scored the go ahead goal versus Lehigh Valley from substitute Reid Strain (Univ. of Indianapolis).  Lehigh Valley, as they’ve done five times through the Regional and National Championships, came from behind to level with just four minutes remaining through Colton Storm (Univ. of North Carolina).
Those scores held to set up Saturday’s match up for the National Championship and the 78th McGuire Cup.  The game will be played at 7:30 p.m. ET on the stadium field at Overland Park Soccer Complex in Overland Park, Kan., and broadcast live on FOX Soccer in HD, starting with the pregame show at 7:00 p.m. ET.
Chicago Fire Academy (IL) Lehigh Valley United (E-PA)
1  Zachary Allen Northwestern
21  Joseph Calistri Northwestern
94  Manuel Chavez Illinois - Chicago
35  Andrew Conner Wisconsin
44  Michael Frasca Dayton
70  Jourdan Gooden Florida Gulf Coast
74  Michael Kozielek DePaul
53  Benjamin Kucera Creighton
18  Daniel Lojek Notre Dame
80  Jesus Medina Oakton CC
83  Chisom Ogbanna Robert Morris (Ill.)
88  Joel Salmeron Illinois - Chicago
56  Reid Strain Indianapolis
34  Anthony Torres Belmont
97  Parker Victor Gonzaga
98  Tanner Witsken Butler
Head Coach: Larry Sunderland  
Asst. Coach: Paul Cadewell  
20  Colton Amidon George Mason
3  Shane Campbell Penn State
21  Joseph Farrell La Salle
17  Mark Forrest  
12  Nicholas Hutchinson Old Dominion
0  Cameron Keys H.S.
19  Garrett Keys H.S.
1  Logan Keys LIU Brooklyn
11  Timohy Lazorko Saint Joseph's
6  Jared Martinelli Temple
5  Alexander Murphy Pennsylvania
23  Colin Phillips Stevens IT
2  Matthew Ross Arcadia
4  Thomas Shiba Navy
14  Melvin Snoh Georgetown
8  Colton Storm North Carolina
18  Nicholas Zambetti  
Head Coach: Greg Ramos  
Asst. Coach: Mike Gorni