Print Page Share

96 Referees Chosen for the 2017 US Youth Soccer National Championships



96 Referees Chosen for the 2017 US Youth Soccer National Championships

Follow the moments: Official Website | Scores and Standings | Video
LIVE GAMES | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram |  #ROADtoTX

Register as a 
Championships Insider to receive daily updates

FRISCO, Texas (July 20, 2017) — US Youth Soccer is pleased to announce the 96 referees who, based on their performance at the state and regional level, will be officiating the games at the 2017 US Youth Soccer National Championships, July 25-30 in Frisco, Texas. 

The selection process for referees for the US Youth Soccer National Championship Series is based on performance throughout the Series. Just as the teams advance from the state to regional to national level, so do the referees.

The United States Soccer Federation is sending referee assessors to Frisco, in addition to several US Youth Soccer assessors. The referees are an integral part of the US Youth Soccer National Championship Series, and they play a key role in its success and advancement to the next level. Being invited to the national level is a great honor for these referees who are dedicated to promoting fair play and furthering their development.

This year, 20 top referees will be returning to work at their second consecutive US Youth Soccer National Championships based on their performance at last year's tournament.

Referees participating in the 55 US Youth Soccer State Association State Cup events are considered for advancement to participate in one of the four US Youth Soccer Regional Championship events. The top referees from each regional event are then considered for advancement to the National Championships. Once selected to the National Championships, the top referees are identified and invited to return to the event the following year.

Region I Referees

Name Hometown Grade
Alfonso Fajardo Pittsburgh, Pa. 6
Carlos Gonzalez Escobar* Plainfield, N.J. 6
Charles Raney Moyock, N.C. 6
Colin O'Connor Dumfries, Va. 7
Dan Pannullo Blue Bell, Pa. 6
Eduard Cardella Ashburn, Va. 6
Hao Zhong Troy, N.Y. 7
Heather Dean* Standish, Maine 6
Joshua Encarnacion Glenolden, Pa. 7
Joshua Pagan Philadelphia, Pa. 6
Julie Granger Greenfield Center, N.Y. 7
Kevin Lock* Malvern, Pa. 6
Kevin Skaalerud Central Islip, N.Y. 7
Magda Zwierzchowski Moorestown, N.J. 7
Max Hartman* South Park, Pa. 6
Max Smith Washington, D.C. 6
Michael Ziegler Bronx, N.Y. 6
Patrick Casey Malvern, Pa. 6
Patrick Slane Washington, D.C. 6
Ryan Foley* Howell, N.J. 6
Ryan Williams Virginia Beach, Va. 6
Stephen Foster Baltimore, Md. 6
Taylor Bombalski Freeport, Pa. 6
Victor Borges New York, N.Y. 6

Region II Referees

Name Hometown Grade
Alex Beehler* Chicago, Ill. 5
Austin Saini* Cleveland, Ohio 6
Brad Snow Fairview Park, Ohio 7
Carlos Rodriguez Melrose Park, Ill. 7
Carter Brochu* Grand Blanc, Mich. 6
Casie Anderson* Covington, Ky. 6
Dean Morgan  Buckner, Ky. 6
Jacob Little  Garden City, Mich. 7
Jared Howard Crestwood, Ky. 6
Joseph Suchoski Shelby Twp., Mich. 6
Kayla Steber Lancaster, Ky. 7
Kelly Chambers Aurora, Ill. 7
Landon Albert Mt Prospect, Ill. 6
Michael Johnson Minnetonka, Minn. 6
Mykela Hawkins Livonia, Minn. 7
Nevan Stojsavljevic Franklin, Wisc. 6
Owen Witte Minneapolis, Minn. 6
Peter Bernardy  De Pere, Wisc. 6
Prem Kumar* Libertyville, Ill. 6
Ramazan Altun Indianapolis, Ind. 6
Ryan Shanklin Appleton, Wisc. 5
Tim Wagner Springfield, Mo. 6
Zachary Bond Schaumburg, Ill. 7
Zachary Richter Chicago, Ill. 6

Region III Referees

Name Hometown Grade
Albert Kyei-Mensah Little Rock, Ark. 7
Alexander Connelly Covington, La. 6
Alyssa Pennington Jackson, Miss. 6
Amin Hadzic* Georgia 5
Arturo Ibarra Brownsville, Texas 6
Donovan Eubank Tennessee 6
Elton Garcia Texas 6
Jalen Gray New Iberia, La. 7
Jamie Willis Florida 6
Jesus Moya* Texas 6
John Matto North Carolina 6
John Paul Archer Moody, Ala. 7
Jonathan Sauers Semmes, Ala. 5
Lorenzo Hernandez Texas 7
Madzid Coric Largo, Fla. 6
Matt Thompson* Mississippi  5
Matt Trotter Tulsa, Okla. 6
Mike Kashef Oklahoma City, Okla. 6
Natalie Simon* Florida 6
Olivia Urig South Carolina 7
Patrick Schmidt* North Carolina 5
Richone Clark Milledgeville, Ga. 6
Robert Dail North Carolina 6
Sam Bierster Alabama 6

Region IV Referees

Name Hometown Grade
Adrian Gonzalez Fontana, Calif. 6
Alejandro Aguilera* Las Vegas, Nev. 6
Andrea Reyes La Palma, Calif. 6
Bhavik Dutt Modesto, Calif. 7
Bryan Juarez Santa Rosa, Calif. 7
Chad Stewart* Camas, Wash. 6
Cynthia Vargas* Murrieta, Calif. 6
Eduardo Gonzalez Las Vegas, Nev. 7
Elias Anosov* Littleton, Colo. 6
Isai Baltezar Santa Cruz, Calif. 6
Isaiah Vlad Glendale, Ariz. 6
Jesus Hernandez-Balbas Seattle, Wash. 6
Jesus Mejia Mountlake Terrace, Wash. 7
Jorge Partida Pomona, Calif. 6
Joseph Salinas Whittier, Calif. 6
Justin St. Pierre Camas, Wash. 7
Kali Smith Richmond, Utah 6
Maria Magana San Bernardino, Calif. 6
Mario Coss Mesa, Ariz. 6
Mike Hohnholz Camas, Wash. 6
Riley Hooper Salem, Ore. 7
Samantha Martinez* National City, Calif. 6
Togayhan Traim San Diego, Calif. 6
Yoel Miller Los Angeles, Calif. 6

* Top returning referee from 2016 National Championships

Each summer, the US Youth Soccer National Championship Series crowns the boys and girls National Champion in seven age groups (13U through 19/20U). The finals are a culmination of a year-long series of competitions at the state and regional levels which provides approximately 185,000 players on over 10,000 teams from 55 US Youth Soccer State Associations the opportunity to showcase their soccer skills against the best competition in the nation.

Annually, the US Youth Soccer National Championship Series provides the nation’s top collegiate and professional coaches with the premier stage to identify and scout the most coveted players in the country.

One of the 14 national crowns awarded is the James P. McGuire Cup, the oldest trophy in youth sports, dating back to 1935 with the inaugural youth championships, and played annually except during World War II. Officially known as the United States Soccer Federation National Junior Challenge Cup, the competition was renamed the James P. McGuire Junior Champion Cup in 1975, after the late United States Soccer Federation President.