Print Page Share

97 Referees Chosen for the 2015 US Youth Soccer National Championships



97 Referees Chosen for the 2015 US Youth Soccer National Championships

Follow the moments:
Scores and Standings | Official Website | Sign Up for News
Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | #ROADtoOK

FRISCO, Texas (July 16, 2015) — US Youth Soccer is pleased to announce the 97 referees who, based on their performance at the state and regional level, will be officiating the games at the 2015 US Youth Soccer National Championships, July 21-26 in Tulsa, Okla. 

The selection process for referees for the US Youth Soccer National Championship Series is based on performance throughout the Series. Just as the teams advance from the state to regional to national level, so do the referees.

The United States Soccer Federation is sending eight referee assessors to Tulsa, in addition to several US Youth Soccer assessors. The referees are an integral part of the US Youth Soccer National Championship Series, and they play a key role in its success and advancement to the next level. Being invited to the national level is a great honor for these referees who are dedicated to promoting fair play and furthering their development.

While US Youth Soccer has been represented by several former players on the world stage, the same can be said of referees. Mark Geiger, who worked several matches at the 2014 FIFA World Cup, began his refereeing career with New Jersey Youth Soccer games before working his way up to the National Championships.

“I went to the [US Youth Soccer Region I] Regionals for six years. Each year, it was a goal to get myself selected for Nationals,” Geiger said. “It took a number of years to get there, so to finally achieve it was very exciting… We’re able to be seen at the National Championships by U.S. Soccer national assessors and national staff, so things started taking off from there.”

This year, 20 referees will be returning to work at their second consecutive US Youth Soccer National Championships.

Referees participating in the 55 US Youth Soccer State Association State Cup events are considered for advancement to participate in one of the four US Youth Soccer Regional Championship events. The top referees from each regional event are then considered for advancement to the National Championships. Once selected to the National Championships, the top referees are identified and invited to return to the event the following year.

Region I Referees

First Name Last Name Hometown Assoc. Grade
David Cochrane* Columbia SC 6
Gary Gutierrez* Gaithersburg MD 6
Bobby Cordrey* Middletown DE 6
Sergio  Gonzalez* Chambersburg PA-E 6
Nathaniel Buck Pittsburgh PA-W 6
Miguel  Lara Pawtucket RI 6
Robyn Crawford-Smith Bronx NY-E 6
Robert Sweeting Poughkeepsie NY-E 6
Jeffrey Cook Ithaca NY-W 6
Adam Kilpatrick Brookline MA 6
Derek Boyle Watertown MA 6
David Nare Newark DE 6
Kenneth Rojas East Elmhurst NY-E 6
Fouad Madkour Everett MA 7
Terrence Mull Camp Hill PA-E 6
Wojciech Gluszak Millville NJ 6
Kevin  Cavalcanti Teaneck NJ 7
Patrick  Casey Malvern PA-E 7
Victor Vazquez Astoria NY-E 6
Taylor Bombalski Freeport PA-W 7
Kevin Garces Somerset NJ 7
Nickrod  Fateh Herndon VA 7
Ian Mangione Watertown CT 6
Nikolas Coelho Mattapoisett MA 7

Region II Referees

First Name Last Name Hometown Assoc. Grade
Brandon Barlog* Macomb MI 6
Adam Behrens* Milwaukee WI 5
James Duling* Coshocton OH-S 6
Emily Fletcher* Lee's Summit KS 6
Benjamin Hall-Volpenhein* Wilmore KY 6
Jeremy Kieso* Harrisburg SD 5
Kyle Armstrong Beloit MO 6
Alex Beehler Naperville IL 6
Jack Feldman Kansas City KS 6
Jacob Johnson Newburgh IN 6
Zachary Marzilli Dover OH-N 6
Edgar Osorio Loves Park IL 6
Ismir Pekmic Victoria MN 6
Matt Printup Eden Prairie MN 6
Nicolas Ramos Beloit IL 6
Saul Rivas Lexington KY 6
Dylan Seitz Elkhorn WI 6
Evan Sizemore Versailles KY 6
Justin Tatsak Chesterfield MI 6
Ethan Beuge Westmont IL 6
Brian Fikar North Royalton OH-N 7
Tracy Labenz Hastings NE 7
Casie Phillips Beavercreek OH-S 6
Victoria Spiegel Ada MI 7
Dan Stupca St. Louis Park MN 5

Region III Referees

First Name Last Name Hometown Assoc. Grade
Mike  Arrington* Cypress TX-S 5
Wade  Beall Tulsa OK 7
BJ Brillard Memphis TN 6
Jason  Burroughs Tallahassee FL 5
Brandon  Cohen New Orleans LA 6
Alex DeRostaing* Oviedo FL 5
Justin DiCharia New Orleans LA 6
Brandon  Gardner Hurst TX-N 7
Michael M.  Gregory* Raleigh NC 6
Gregg Gutierrez Houston TX-S 7
Rhiannon Harrison Memphis TN 6
Matt Jackson Newnan GA 5
Jose Lara Ft Smith AR 6
Mike  Lavergna San Antonio TX-S 6
Robert Mann Pensacola FL 5
James Meade Flower Mound TX-N 6
Will Mejia Huntsville TX -S 6
Rosendo  Mendoza Humble  TX-S 6
Jasmine Peralta* Cocoa Beach FL 5
Anthony Remensnyder Alpharetta GA 6
Patrick Schmidt Jacksonville NC 6
Trent Vanhaitsma* Boynton Beach FL 6
Daniel Velez Temple  GA 7
Aleks Zhelyazkov* Atlanta GA 5

Region IV Referees

First Name Last Name Hometown Assoc. Grade
Julian Arias Merced CA-N 6
Elijio Arreguin San Francisco CA-N 7
Malik Badawi Fresno CA-N 6
Janelle Bailey Mililani HI 7
Kate Chapman* Corona CA-S 5
Diana Enriquez San Bernardino CA-S 6
Lexi Farmer Reseda CA-S 6
Justin Fillmore Westminster CO 6
Colin Gifford San Jose CA-N 6
Logan Griffis Everett WA 6
Kelsey Harms* lynnwood WA 7
Robert Hullner Scottsdale AZ 6
Jay Hutchinson Salt Lake City UT 6
Noah Kenyawani Tempe AZ 6
Paige Kulm Sandy UT 7
Kristi Mak* Ogden UT 6
Nick Marin Dixon CA-N 7
Corbyn May Portland OR 6
Ben Moore Kent WA 6
Salma Perez Huntington Beach CA-S 6
Cephas Quartson Vancouver WA 6
Bennett Savage Lake Oswego OR 6
Tucker Schwarberg* Turlock CA-N 6
Ceciah Valero Pomona CA-S 6

* Returning referee from 2014 National Championships

Each summer, the US Youth Soccer National Championship Series crowns the boys and girls National Champion in seven age groups (Under-13 through Under-19). The finals are a culmination of a year-long series of competitions at the state and regional levels which provides approximately 185,000 players on over 10,000 teams from 55 US Youth Soccer State Associations the opportunity to showcase their soccer skills against the best competition in the nation.

Annually, the US Youth Soccer National Championship Series provides the nation’s top collegiate and professional coaches with the premier stage to identify and scout the most coveted players in the country.

The year 2015 holds special significance for the four teams in the Under-19 Boys age group at the US Youth Soccer National Championships. The 2015 National Champion will hoist the James P. McGuire Cup, the oldest trophy in youth sport dating back to 1935 with the inaugural youth championships, on the 80th anniversary of the storied cup. In addition to the McGuire Cup anniversary, the Under-19 Girls Ross Stewart and Under-16 Girls Mavis Derflinger Cups will celebrate their 35th and 30th anniversary, respectively.